Local Community Development Committee (LCDC)

The Limerick Local Economic and Community Plan (LECP) 2016 - 2021 sets out the objectives and actions which will guide the economic and community development of Limerick city and county over the next six years. 

These actions will be delivered by a range of economic and community development stakeholders. The requirement to develop an LECP was introduced by the Local Government Reform Act 2014​.

LCDC Functions

  • To prepare the community elements of a 6-year Local Economic and Community Plan to implement, review, amend  and monitor on an on-going basis the implementation of the community elements of the Plan,
  • To coordinate, manage and oversee the implementation of local and community development programmes that have been approved by the LCDC and a relevant public,
  • To improve the coordination of public-funded local and community development programmes and reduce duplication,
  • To coordinate generally the local and community development programmes within the operational area of the LCDC,
  • To prepare an annual report on the performance of its functions.

The following are members of the Local Community Development Committee:

  • Councillor Michael Collins (Chairperson)
  • Councillor Stephen Keary (Vice Chairperson)
  • Councillor Catherine Slattery
  • Councillor Brigid Teefy
  • Gordon Daly Limerick, City and County Council
  • Pádraig Casey Ballyhoura, Development Company
  • Anne Kavanagh, PAUL Partnership
  • Shay Riordan, West Limerick Resources
  • Edel Geraghty,  Public Participation Network
  • Susan O’Neill, Public Participation Network
  • James Prior, Public Participation Network
  • Tony Lynch, Public Participation Network
  • George O’Callaghan, Limerick and Clare Education and Training Board
  • Fiona O’Grady, Limerick Youth Service
  • Dee Ryan, Limerick Chamber of Commerce
  • David Tobin, Public Participation Network
  • Diarmaid Fitzgerald, Department of Employment Affairs and Social Protection
  • Anne Ryan, Health Services Executive
  • Vacant Agriculture Seat

Contact Information

Seamus O' Connor 
Chief Officer
Limerick LCDC
Phone: +353 61 557205
Email: seamus.oconnor@limerick.ie

This service is provided by

Urban and Rural Community Development

Phone +353 61 556000
Limerick City and County Council, Merchant's Quay, Limerick V94 EH90