Limerick Culture & Arts Department

The Limerick Culture & Arts Department is funded by Limerick City and County Council, the Arts Council of Ireland, and the Department of the Culture, Heritage & the Gaeltacht.

The Limerick City Arts Office was established in 1988. The County Limerick Arts Office was established in 1993. The amalgamation of Limerick City and County Council in 2014 resulted in one Arts Office delivering the arts for Limerick. We are the first Local Authority in Ireland to put in place a Culture and Arts Department representing the growth in investment and delivery in Limerick in Culture and Arts. 

Limerick City and County Council

Limerick City and County Council is the Local Government administrative body responsible for Limerick City & County and comprises of an elected and executive structure.

The Arts Council of Ireland

The Arts Council of Ireland is the Irish government agency for developing the arts. They work in partnership with artists, arts organisations, public policy makers and others to build a central place for the arts in Irish life.

The Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht

The Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht oversees the conservation, preservation, protection and presentation of Ireland's heritage and cultural assets. The Department also seeks to promote the Irish language and to support the Gaeltacht. 

The key functions under its remit include:

  • Arts, Culture, Film and Music, as well as overseeing Ireland's cultural institutions
  • Ireland's Built and Natural Heritage
  • The Irish language, the Gaeltacht and the Islands
  • North/South co-operation as it relates to Waterways Ireland, An Foras Teanga and the wider functions of the Department.
This service is provided by

Culture and Arts Department

Phone +353 61 556370
Limerick City and County Council, Merchants Quay, Limerick, V94 EH90