Information on Limerick's Metropolitan and Municipal Districts

Limerick City and County Council covers a geographical area of and provides a wide range of services to more than 195,000 people

  • Limerick City: 105,326
  • Limerick County: 89,849


Limerick City Council and Limerick County Council amalgamated in 2014 under the provisions of the Local Government Reform Act 2014. It came into operation on 1st June 2014 after the 2014 local elections. Prior to the merger, the two Councils had eight electoral areas and 45 councillors.


Limerick City and County Council now has six electoral areas. Cllr. Gerald Mitchell is Mayor of the City and County of Limerick.

Metropolitan District of Limerick

  • Cllr. Azad Talukder is Cathaoirleach of the Metropolitan District of Limerick
  • There are three electoral areas in the Metropolitan District of Limerick:

Limerick City North:

  • Population: 21,640
  • Councillors: 7

Limerick City West:

  • Population: 33,370
  • Councillors: 7

Limerick City East:

  • Population: 50,316
  • Councillors: 7

Municipal District of Adare-Rathkeale

  • Cllr. Adam Teskey is Cathaoirleach of the Municipal District of Adare-Rathkeale
  • Population: 27,650
  • Councillors: 6

Municipal District of Newcastle West

  • Cllr. Tom Ruddle is Cathaoirleach of the Municipal District of Newcastle West
  • Population: 27,336
  • Councillors: 6

Municipal District of Cappamore-Kilmallock

  • Cllr. Michael Donegan is Cathaoirleach of the Municipal District of Cappamore-Kilmallock
  • Population: 34,536
  • Councillors: 7


The number of public representatives for the new unified authority has been reduced from 45 to 40.

The Boundary Commission recommended 21 councillors for the three new city electoral areas in the Metropolitan District, with the remaining 19 in the three county areas.

The changes, designed to create a larger metropolitan area with a population of 100,000, mean four extra councillors representing the larger redrawn city electoral area.

To view a full list of councillors please click here.