Freedom of Limerick to be awarded posthumously to Detective Garda Jerry McCabe

  • Limerick City and County Council

The Freedom of Limerick is to be awarded to the late Detective Garda Jerry McCabe and his partner, retired Detective Garda Ben O’Sullivan.

The decision follows a special meeting of Limerick City and County Council today (Wed 13 June 2018) where there was unanimous agreement.

The Freedom of Limerick is the highest honour that can be bestowed upon an individual by Limerick City and County Council. The honour is reserved for those who have made exceptional or unique contributions to the common good or to persons who have made outstanding contributions to the business, commercial, educational or cultural life of Limerick.

The late Jerry McCabe and Ben O’Sullivan become the second and third people to be conferred with the Freedom of Limerick since the amalgamation of the two local authorities.

Both men are being honoured for their bravery in the carrying out of the duties on behalf of the people of Limerick and Ireland, and as a token of the high esteem and affection in which they are held by the people of Limerick.

In 2014, President of Ireland Michael D Higgins was conferred with the honour in recognition of his outstanding achievement as President and for his considerable contribution to the social, academic, cultural and artistic life at home and abroad.

Prior the amalgamation 64 people received the Freedom of Limerick city, including Paul O’Connell, Maud Gonne, Pope John Paull II, JP McManus as well as former US Presidents John F Kennedy and Bill Clinton.

The Freedom of Limerick ceremony will take place in Istabraq Hall, Council Headquarters, Merchant’s Quay, Limerick V94 EH90 on Thursday 28 June 2018 at 6pm.

See More