Fianna Fail’s Francis Foley unanimously elected as new Mayor of the City and County of Limerick

  • Cllr Francis Foley, Mayor of the City and County of Limerick
Mayor of the City and County of Limerick Cllr Francis Foley

Fianna Fáil Cllr Francis Foley has been elected as the new Mayor of the City and County of Limerick.

The Abbeyfeale-based councillor was elected unanimously by the 39 members of the Council after he was proposed and seconded by his party colleagues Michael Collins and Bridie Collins, respectively.

The election of a new Mayor for Limerick was deferred for one week following the sudden death of the Mayor’s party colleague Jerry O’Dea.

Speaking following his election Mayor Francis Foley said: “While this is a huge personal moment for me and my family, it would be remiss of me not to mention my friend and colleague Jerry. It was his sudden passing that triggered this event for me and while it is a hugely joyous day for me, it is bittersweet.”

Mayor Foley said housing was one of the most pressing issues at present: “The biggest challenge we face at the moment is the provision of housing - for our young people in particular.”

“Between now and 2026 we have been tasked to deliver over 2,500 new homes. The Council must ensure that there are no obstacles to getting these homes built. Failure or excuses are not an option.”

On communities: “Limerick is a place that people from many different countries and creeds call home. I will represent all communities in Limerick and ensure that every section of these communities receives and acknowledges due recognition and service for our council and that nobody is left behind.

Different thinking, customs, etc help to enrich Limerick. We must be open to new ideas, give people the voice to articulate and debate them and then move on together.”

The Mayor is urging all to work together for Limerick.

“Limerick and the wider region has been buoyed by a series of jobs announcements in recent months and weeks,” he said.

“We must continue to make sure that we don’t rest on our laurels.

“We must continue to search out that company, create the ‘next best thing’, provide the proper housing, public realm, facilities and services that are required for a modern society to function.

“We have to make bold and brave and sometimes tough choices, but they have to be right for Limerick.

“Limerick city like other cities around the world needs to look to the future, embrace what a city needs to be, wants to be and should be.

“Vested interests, need to be Team Limerick, not Team Me.”

Mayor Francis Foley was first elected to the then Limerick County Council in 2004 and has continued to be re-elected in all subsequent elections to Limerick County Council and latterly Limerick City and County Council.

Fianna Fáil also took the position of Deputy Mayor, with Cllr Kieran O’Hanlon being elected.

The election of the Mayor of the City and County of Limerick brings to an end the series of annual meetings in Limerick.

Those elected are:


Mayor: Cllr Francis Foley (FF)

Deputy Mayor Kieran O’Hanlon (FF)

Limerick Metropolitan District

Cathaoirleach: Cllr Olivia O’Sullivan (FG)

Leas-Chathaoirleach: Cllr Dan McSweeney (FG)

Adare-Rathkeale Municipal District

Cathaoirleach: Cllr Stephen Keary (FG)

Leas-Chathaoirleach: Cllr Adam Teskey (FG)

Cappamore-Kilmallock Municipal District

Cathaoirleach: Cllr John Egan (FG)

Leas-Chathaoirleach: Cllr Ger Mitchell (FG)

Newcastle West Municipal District

Cathaoirleach: Cllr Francis Foley (FF)

Leas-Chathaoirleach: Cllr Michael Collins (FF)

See More