Castleconnell Autumn Concert Series: The Vanbrugh & Friends

Tuesday 28th November @ 8pm
  • The Vanbrugh & Friends 810x456

Presented by Limerick City and County Arts Office in conjunction with LOVE Castleconnell

The Vanbrugh and their guests present two of the great works from the extended chamber music repertoire. Brahms’ magnificent 1890 string quintet Op.111 started life in the composer’s sketches for a fifth symphony and its final form retains an orchestral grandeur, both in structure and in texture. This is truly one of the finest works in the chamber music repertoire, exuberant, elegant, subtle, original and unmistakably Brahms. Dvořák’s Op.77 quintet, written in 1875 just as he was on the brink of worldwide stardom, adds the depth of the double bass to the instruments of the string quartet and together with Dvořák’s love of melody and rhythmic vitality, lets loose a glorious and joyful musical celebration.

  • Keith Pascoe - violin
  • Marja Gaynor - violin
  • Simon Aspell - viola
  • Ed Creedon - viola
  • Christopher Marwood - cello
  • Stéphane Petiet - double bass

Brahms - String Quintet Op.111 [1890]
Dvořák - String Quintet Op.77 [1875]

Further information is available from Limerick City and County Council Arts Office on 061 556370 | | | Twitter @LimerickArts | Instagram @limerickarts

All Saints Church Castleconnell

Co. Limerick.

Booking information
€15 / Concession €10 (Student/Senior/Group of 5+)

Want to Submit a Listing? is sharing the story of Limerick. If you have an event, amenity (attraction, service, community group, or business) or a good news story about Limerick city or your town in County Limerick, you can now submit the details.

Submit Content
Treaty Stone Limerick. Photo Piotr Machowczyk