2nd/6th Limerick Scout Group

  • 2nd 6th Limerick Scout Group

St Mary’s Scout Group 2nd/ 6th Limerick Established in 1928 by Fr O Regan CC and a committee which included J. Griffin, Mr Healy, Mr Ryan, Mr Morgan, W. Wixted, J. Cowhey, M. O Sullivan, C. Maddigan, T. Daly, M. Hoare, Tom Andrews, T. Finn and R. Quigley. 

An amalgamation with the sea scouts took place under C.B.S.I. Our first scout hall was of a timber structure on the Island Bank. Following a lapse in the thirties the troop was reformed and had a temporary premise in the playground, Bishop Street, previous to this meetings were held in Athlunkard Boat Club.

1954 saw a new scout hall being built again on the Island Bank under the leadership of Fr Wall. St Patrick’s Day 1980 is a day that will be remembered as our scout hall was maliciously burned down.

When we arrived for mass before heading into the parade our hall still smouldered before us. Our present Scout Hall was opened in 1989 and it is part of the Town House located on the grounds of St Mary’s Church. It has proved very successful and provides for the needs of our members. We also have the use of an adjoining school field for outdoor activities.

Limerick City

Parochial House
Athlunkard Street
Limerick V94 KV4A

More Info