Stony Thursday Book: Poetry Call Out

The Stony Thursday Book is seeking submissions from local, national and international poets for its next issue, to be published in 2019. Submissions are open until Wednesday, October 23, 2019 at 5pm.

Stony Thursday Poetry Books

The Stony Thursday Book was founded by Limerick poets John Liddy and Jim Burke in 1975, and has been edited by poets Mark Whelan, Kevin Byrne, Patrick Bourke, Knute Skinner, Thomas McCarthy, Ciarán O’Driscoll, Mary Coll, Jo Slade, Paddy Bushe, Peter Sirr, Mary O’Donnell, John Davies, and Nessa O’Mahony. 

The Stony Thursday Book is one of the longest-running literary journals in Ireland and celebrates its 43rd edition in 2019.

This year's Editor of the Stony Thursday Poetry Book is Martin Dyar.

About the Editor:
Martin Dyar's debut poetry collection Maiden Names (Arlen House), described by Bernard O’Donoghue as ‘a thrilling new development in Irish poetry’ was a books of the year selection in the Guardian and the Irish Times and was shortlisted for the Pigott Poetry Prize. With the composer Ryan Molloy, he has written a poetry song cycle for soprano, harp and flute, entitled Buaine na Gaoithe, which had an Irish national tour in 2018. He has also written a play, Tom Loves a Lord, about the poet Thomas Moore. The winner of the Patrick Kavanagh Award in 2009, and the Strokestown International Poetry Award in 2001, Martin has been writer in residence at the International Writing Program at the University of Iowa, and at the Washington Ireland Program. His work has been added to the Leaving Cert prescribed poetry syllabus, and is included in the anthologies Windharp: Poems of Ireland Since 1916 (Penguin Ireland); and Everything to Play For: Ninety-nine Poems About Sport (Poetry Ireland). He is currently Associate Writer Fellow in poetry at the University of Limerick, and the recipient of the 2019 John Broderick residency award.

This year, poetry submission to Stony Thursday is through our online system. If you have previously used our online system for other applications you can sign in with your existing log in details.

Register/Sign in here for the online submission process:
(Online submissions can be saved and re-visited before final submission).

  • Each poet should submit no more than 6 poems.
  • Submitted poems may not be previously published or currently pending publication.
  • Each poet should submit a short bio (max 100 words).

Closing: Wednesday, October 23, 2019 at 5pm. 

Please note: By submitting you are giving Limerick City and County Council permission to add you to our Stony Thursday mailing list and to share your details with the relevant third parties in order to facilitate publication, i.e. Editor and Publisher.

Contact Information
For any queries please phone: +353 61 556370
Many thanks to those who have already submitted poems.

The Stony Thursday Poetry Book is funded by The Arts Council and Limerick City and County Council.

This service is provided by

Culture and Arts Department

Phone +353 61 556370
Limerick City and County Council Headquarters, Merchants Quay, Limerick, V94 EH90