Stony Thursday Book No.19 Now on Sale

The 45th edition of one of Ireland's longest running literary journals, The Stony Thursday Book, has recently been launched by the Mayor of the City and County of Limerick, Cllr Gerald Mitchell.

Stony Thursday Book no.19

Founded in 1975 by Limerick poets John Liddy and Jim Burke, The Stony Thursday Book has become a cornerstone of Ireland's literary landscape.

This edition showcases a diverse collection of poetry curated by the Editor, Christodoulos Makris, a trailblazer in experimental poetics.

Under his guidance the 2023 edition embraces innovation and unconventional forms. Makris has carefully selected 65 works from over 35 poets, creating a fascinating collection of poetic exploration.

Contributors include: Mara Adamitz Scrupe, Derek Beaulieu, Gregory Betts, Caroline Bracken, Finola Cahill, Lynn Caldwell, Eoghan Carrick, Patrick Chapman, Greg Crowley, Natasha Cuddington, Ailbhe Darcy, Ellen Dillon, Brendan Duffin, Mars Duigan, Will Fleming, Steven J. Fowler & Zuzana Husarova, Kit Fryatt, Cat Grogan, Alina Hanusiak, Christina Hennemann, Mai Ishikawa, Casey Jarrin, Pippa Little, Niamh Mac Cabe, Aodan McCardle, Emma McKervey, Máighréad Medbh, Audrey Molloy, Mary Kate Nyland, Nuala O'Connor, Estelle Price, Serge Shea, Jo Slade, Ilias Tsagas, Louise Viera, Patricia Walsh, Mark Ward. 

The 45th edition’s book design is credited to Richard Meade, an accomplished graphic designer and graduate of the Limerick School of Art and Design (LSAD). The cover art is by Ciara Barker, an artist hailing from Co. Galway and based in Limerick city, also an alumna of the esteemed LSAD.  

Now available for purchase - Price: €10 


For further details please contact:
Limerick Arts Office | 061 556370 | 

The Stony Thursday Poetry Book is funded by The Arts Council & Limerick City and County Council.

This service is provided by

Arts Office

Phone +353 61 556370
Limerick City and County Council Headquarters, Merchants Quay, Limerick, V94 EH90