Michael Hartnett Annual Poetry Award

This annual award marks Michael Hartnett’s contribution to literature in English and Irish.

Michael Hartnett Annual Poetry Award 2017 
Gradam Bliantúil Filíochta i gCuimhne ar Mhícheál Ó hAirtnéide 2017

This was the 16th year of this award to mark Michael Hartnett’s contribution to literature in English and Irish. Each year the award alternates between Irish and English and this year the award was for a volume of poetry in Irish. 

A key feature of the Eigse Michael Hartnett festival every year is the Michael Hartnett Poetry Award. This year’s substantial prize went to a book of poetry in Irish by Wexford born poet and editor Seosamh O’Murchú for his collection Taisí Tosta, published by Coiscéim in 2015.

“‘I’m really delighted to receive this award,” Seosamh said.” Not only is it a great source of encouragement for me but is also a wonderful recognition and affirmation of my work. It’s made all the more special by the fact that the award remembers and honours one or our truly great poets, Michael Hartnett, who proudly has taken his place in the pantheon of the Munster poetic tradition.”

The poet received a prize fund of €4000 which is sponsored jointly by Limerick City and County Council Arts Office and the Arts Council.

Previous winners of this prestigious award include Julie O'Callaghan, Vona Groarke, Kerry Hardie, Sinead Morrissey, Paddy Bushe, Maurice Riordan, Aine Ni Fhoghlu, James Harpur, Peter Sirr, Mark Roper and Jo Slade, John McAuliffe and Doireann Ni Ghríofa.

The Michael Hartnett Poetry Awards were presented to both poets on the opening night of Éigse Michael Hartnett in Newcastle West in April 2017.

Further details on the festival from: www.eigsemichaelhartnett.ie


This service is provided by

Arts Office

Phone +353 61 557363
Limerick City and County Council, Merchants Quay, Limerick, V94 EH90