92 candidates running in the Local Elections in Limerick

A total of 92 candidates will be on the ballot papers in the Local Elections in Limerick on Friday 24 May 2019.

Over a fifth of candidates are women

The deadline for receipt of nominations was Saturday 04 May 2019 and candidates had until 12 noon today [07 May 2019] to withdraw their nomination.

Twenty of the candidates are women, representing 21.7% of the total number of candidates on the ballot papers.  The Newcastle West Municipal District is the only area without any female candidates.

The Local Elections 2019 will be held on Friday 24 May 2019 in conjunction with the European Elections, the Referendum on the Regulation of Divorce and the Plebiscite on a Directly Elected Mayor with Executive Functions for Limerick city and county.

Polling will take place from 7am to 10pm.

There are six Local Electoral Areas within Limerick City and County Council returning a total of 40 councillors.

  • Adare - Rathkeale - 6 seats
  • Cappamore - Kilmallock - 7 seats
  • Limerick City East - 7 seats
  • Limerick City North - 7 seats
  • Limerick City West - 7 seats
  • Newcastle West - 6 seats

List of candidates

Adare-Rathkeale Cappamore-Kilmallock Limerick City East
Bridie Collins FF
Stephen Keary FG
Mark Keogh DDI
Emmett O'Brien IND
Trina O'Dea FF
Richard O'Donoghue IND
Mike Putt DDI
Kevin Sheahan FF
Theresa Storey GP
Adam Teskey FG
Leo Walsh FG
PJ Carey IND Greg Conway FG
Michael Donegan FF
John Egan FG
Jim Hickey SF
Shane Hogan AON
Trevor McCarthy SD
Joseph Meagher FF
Gerald Mitchell FG
John O'Gorman IND
Eddie Ryan FF
Martin Ryan FF
Noreen Stokes FG
Brigid Teefy IND
Noel Hannan IND
Seán Hartigan GP
Sarah Jane Hennelly SD
Marian Hurley FG
Paul Keller SOL-PBP
Sarah Kiely FG
Derek Mulcahy IND
Michael Murphy FG
Séighin Ó Ceallaigh SF
Jerry O'Dea FF
Joe Pond FF
Diarmuid Ryan IND
Michael Ryan AON
Elena Secas LAB
Michael Sheahan FG
Catherine Slattery FF
Limerick City North Limerick City West Newcastle West
Sharon Benson SF
Mary Cahillane SOL-PBP
Ruth Clarke IND
John Costelloe SF
Anne Cronin LAB
Frankie Daly IND
Des Hayes IND
Kevin Kiely IND
Brian Leddin GP
Denis McCarthy FG
Christy McInerney FF
Eleanor McSherry FG
John Nugent SF
Brian O'Connor FG
Maeve O'Donnell AON
Kieran O'Hanlon FF
Pat O'Neill FF
Olivia O'Sullivan FG
Dean Quinn IND
Conor Sheehan LAB
Kieran Walsh SD
Daniel Butler FG
Mark Carey IND
James Collins FF
Sunnymartins Duruagwu IND
Julian Fitzgibbon AON
Elenora Hogan FG
Fergus Kilcoyne IND
Joe Leddin LAB
John Loftus IND
Jim Long IND
Sean Lynch FF
Breandán Anraoi MacGabhann GP
Cathal McCarthy IND
Malachy McCreesh SF
Dan McSweeney FG
Jamie Morrissey IND
Seónaidh Ní Shíomóin SOL-PBP
Elisa O'Donovan SD
Abul Kalam Azad Talukder FF
Séamus Browne SF
Michael Collins FF
John Dalton REN
Francis Foley FF
Liam Galvin FG
Christy Kelly IND
Conor O'Donoghue AON
Sean O'Mahony IND
Tom Ruddle FG
Jerome Scanlan FG
John Sheahan FG

The party breakdown of the candidates is:

  • Fine Gael (FG) 22 (6 women)
  • Fianna Fail (FF) 18 (3 women)
  • Sinn Féin (SF) 7 (1 woman)
  • Aontú (AON) 5 (1 woman)
  • Green Party (GP) 4 (1 woman)
  • Labour (LAB) 4 (2 women)
  • Social Democrats (SD) 4 (2 women)
  • Solidarity – People Before Profit (SOL-PBP) 3 (2 women)
  • Direct Democracy Ireland (DDI) 2
  • Renua (REN) 1
  • Independent (IND) 22 (2 women)

Limerick is guaranteed to elect seven new councillors due to the decisions of Cllrs Vivienne Crowley (FF), John Gilligan (IND), Noel Gleeson (FF), Michael Hourigan (FG), Ciara McMahon (SF), Bill O’Donnell (FG) and Lisa Marie Sheehy (SF) not to run.

Since the last local elections a number of changes have been made by the Local Area Boundary Committee.

Limerick City East has lost a seat at the expense of Limerick City North meaning both are now 7 seaters.

To cater for these changes a number of areas are moving from Limerick City East to Limerick City North.  They mostly centre around the Garryowen and Singland areas. 

For a full list of areas changing, please: Search ‘Local Elections’ on www.Limerick.ie.

You can see all the changes and for important dates and other information on the Local Elections click here.

See More